Distinguished University Professors and Award Winners Honored

Posted On June 13, 2017
Categories Awards, News

On May 15, the most recent group of Distinguished University Professors and university faculty award winners were honored by President Mark Becker and Provost Risa Palm at Celebrating Faculty Excellence, an annual event recognizing newly named Regents’ Professors, Distinguished University Professors, faculty award recipients and faculty receiving promotion and/or tenure.


Four faculty members were honored as new Distinguished University Professors:

Andrew Gewirtz, Institute for Biomedical Sciences

John Horgan, Global Studies Institute and Psychology

Monica Swahn, Epidemiology and Biostatistics

Balasubramaniam Ramesh, Computer Information Services


Four faculty members received university-level awards:

Alumni Distinguished Professor

Douglas Gies, Physics and Astronomy

Exceptional Service Award

Sara Cushing, Applied Linguistics and ESL

Instructional Effectiveness Award

Ute Römer, Applied Linguistics and ESL

Instructional Innovation Award

Susan Willey, Risk Management and Insurance


Learn more about these and other university-level awards recognizing faculty excellence at Georgia State University.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email